Maybe carrier doesn’t want us to read paper; How strong is your faith and how anxious are you to meet him; Superhero Cafe special; Green Olive, Raymour & Flanigan coming to east, but what about west development?; Another Ocean City Entertainment Center?; Gina Collini’s Johnny wows the senior shut-ins; Biggest lie we ever wrote

13418881_10210129312377989_5948417533190413720_n.jpg

The column that says when you don’t get your Saturday and Sunday papers delivered, and you think about switching because it has happened too many times before, but then you realize the same carrier delivers the other newspapers, too, so it’s a monopoly, but the company takes your money out of your account the same time every month, and it has just gone up $4 a month, and since we delivered newspapers for over 22 years, we know how carriers will never get rich, and, besides, they will be extinct in a few years as newspapers are phased out.

By Jack Hummel

Radio: 92.1 FM WVLT Saturdays noon to 2 p.m.

Email: jhummel9794@gmail.com

Phone: 856-237-6645

U.S. Army: RA13815980

Google all columns at jackhummelblog

Good evening!

We’re going to talk to Dr. David Watts about putting the head at the top of the column together again since all the king’s horses and all the king’s men couldn’t.

Here’s a Sunday question we want to ask you …

When someone pulls through with a close call in life, we say God is good.

When someone passes, we say they’re in a better place, and they’re still with us in spirit.

Can we have it both ways? If we really have faith like we like to expound, shouldn’t we all be excited about leaving?

As in, “I’m on my way to heaven and the journey gets sweeter every day …”

As in, “… And if he asks about me, tell him the last time you saw me, I was on my way …”

Chris Jespersen, can we order something from your store online?

Superhero Cafe at 501 N High St., Cottage G, in Millville …

The Texas Burger a 1/3-pound pattie with cheddar cheese and bbq sauce on Texas toast come with chips and soda for $7.

But it was on Third Friday and it has passed.

“My husband got the Texas burger, which he says was as epic as it smelled. I got the 3 tacos. However, due to a food sensitivity, I asked if I could have all chicken instead of the beef. They were the best tacos I’ve ever had. Can’t wait to visit again!”

— customer

“Stopped in for lunch yesterday, and John made up some excellent waffle dogs and cheeseburgers! Great food, and friendly conversation! We will definitely be back!”

— another customer

The state on Thursday approved a $13 million development plan that includes construction of what city officials said is a much-desired Olive Garden restaurant in Vineland.

The restaurant, along with a Raymour & Flanigan furniture store, Gabe’s discount clothing store and other businesses, will occupy the Delsea Drive location of a Kmart that closed in October 2015.

— Daily Journal

As the western side of the county slowly succumbs to the Route 55 curse.

If Landis Avenue suddenly became a four-lane highway from Carll’s Corner to Route 55, would the lopsided eatery desert change?

Why, now that Delsea Drive has them all except Outback?

We know Route 55 to the shore will never be completed as long as environmentalists exist, but what would be a good reason to widen Landis Avenue?

Not ShopRite, not Walmart, not hotels, even if they suddenly sprung up, so what? Bridgeton City Park? Greenwich? Amish Market? Not state-of-the-art gyms?

And would Rosenhayn grab everything first?

Where is our niche?

How about a replica of the Ocean City Entertainment Center at Carll’s Corner funded by the same amount of millions pouring into Camden?

Even if it cost $50 million. And booking big acts even if we have to import sand to lure the Beach Boys.

When is the last time the west thought big?

How did you make out on St. Patrick’s Day, Maryann Kuntz of Octopus’ Garden?

“It had been too long since my last pet therapy visit to a nursing home in Dover. It turned out to be perfect timing to resume.

“Miss D, who adores Jonathan, lost her husband 3 days ago. Her family was there and Jonathan was a hit. Miss D’s face lit up when I placed Johnny in her arms. She has dementia pretty bad, but even if for a moment, her spirit was lifted!

“Then there’s Miss Jeanette, who always says she wants to die. Johnny gives her reason to smile. Even in a rather dismal existence, my boy provides a certain ‘healing’ that Miss Mary calls it. She’s 95 years old and sharp as a tack! I love listening to her stories!

“Then there’s Miss Diane, who is always going home to Florida ‘tomorrow.’ I tell her I’ll bring John back next week, she says, ‘OK, but I’ll be in Florida.’

“Then there’s playboy Emory, the ladies man! He is jealous of Johnny because all the ladies dote on him.

“So many different personalities and I’m so glad I am able to bring Jonathan to ‘work his magic’ and bring these beautiful people some happiness!”

— Gina Collini,

carrying forward her mom’s love of animals

The biggest lie we ever wrote.

Dec. 13, 2012

Tony Mazzeo is 76 years old.

The first time he handled a peach at Sunny Slope Farms outside Bridgeton was 60 years ago.

He figures it’s time.

“Every good thing must come to an end,’’ said the face of Sunny Slope this week.

“I’m going to retire. At the end of this year, I’m going to retire.’’

They’ve heard it before.

“Ah, he’s not going to retire,’’ said Ken Sheppard, retired area school bus magnate who, like a lot of other people, make visiting Tony a daily ritual.

“We hold board meetings here,’’ said Sheppard.

“He can’t retire,’’ said Sonny Bender, a retired auto body man. “Where will I get my apples?’’

They all tell him he can’t retire because they can’t remember getting peaches from anybody else.

But Tony says it has to happen.

 “I missed my kids growing up,’’ he said. “I own a place in Fortescue. Know how many times I’ve been there this year? Three times.

“My daughter, Michelle, was a good swimmer. She swam in Delaware and Maryland, and she went to Florida to compete.

“I missed it all.’’

And he refuses to make that mistake again.

“I want to spend time with my grandson,’’ he smiled. “I don’t want to miss him growing up. I want to take him fishing.

“He’s Cambodian.

“We have Cambodian help here. This Cambodian worker, she kept telling my son she had the right woman for him in Cambodia.

“So he went to Cambodia and met her.’’

The rest is history, the apple of Mazzeo’s eye.

During the peach harvesting season, you’re either in all the way or you’re out.

“Who knows how many hours?’’ he said. “Maybe 115 hours a week. Seven days.

“My wife, she knew I would be coming home at night, but she didn’t know when. I would tell her, I’ll be home, honey. Sometimes by 6:30. Sometimes by 8:30 or 9.’’

Mazzeo was born in Italy. His family that was first here lost all their money twice when banks failed. He speaks with an accent and he talks quickly, but always with a smile.

“I can’t remember when I didn’t work with Tony,’’ said Al Caggiano Jr., 48, who runs the 600-acre operation his father built.

Sunny Slope does 100,000 to 150,000 bushels of peaches a year.

“We work together,’’ said Mazzeo of Al Jr. “We clean all the equipment. We do the dirty jobs together.’’

He doesn’t know how to cut back.

“I’m 48,’’ said Caggiano, “so you know how long I’ve worked with him. I’ve never known him to wear a watch. He doesn’t leave until the job is done and he usually drags me into it.’’

The 85-year-old Sheppard isn’t convinced Mazzeo’s retiring.

“He’ll still be here,’’ he said.

“No,’’ corrected Tony. “All good things must come to an end. I want to go to Cambodia. It’s beautiful there.’’

Caggiano intervened.

“Tony will be here because his grandson likes to drive the forklift,’’ he smiled.

His grandson is 6. He carries his picture in his vest pocket.

“I’m going to invite my good friend Mario Andretti to my house to eat,’’ said Mazzeo.

He’s known the race car mogul for over 40 years.

“He calls and asks me why I don’t come to the races,’’ said Mazzeo.

11984649-large.jpg

TONY MAZZEO

Obviously, he doesn’t understand the peach harvesting business.

“Roger Penske used to race at Vineland Speedway,’’ offered Mazzeo. “Today, he has 40,000 people working for him. He owns two racetracks.’’

Penske comes to the New Jersey Motorsports Park when his team races. Mazzeo has never been able to get away to go see him. He also knew Andy Granatelli, another racing mogul.

“He liked Serra sausage made in Vineland,’’ said Mazzeo. “He always asked me to bring him pounds of it.’’

More importantly, Tony Mazzeo knows everybody in the Bridgeton area who likes peaches.

“I don’t know when my last day is,’’ he hedged. “I’ve got to get things cleaned up. It might not be done by the end of the year. But, it’s going to happen.’’

It will happen before the next peach season.

Before that, you can bet the pilgrimage will begin to say goodbye to an icon.

It didn’t happen. It hasn’t happened. Superstorm Sandy happened in Fortescue first. That makes 65 years at Sunny Slope.

YOU CAN BOOK IT:  Why stop a good thing where you get to meet the multitude?

Maybe carrier doesn’t want us to read paper; How strong is your faith and how anxious are you to meet him; Superhero Cafe special; Green Olive, Raymour & Flanigan coming to east, but what about west development?; Another Ocean City Entertainment Center?; Gina Collini’s Johnny wows the senior shut-ins; Biggest lie we ever wrote

Leave a Reply

